Death Comes NOT to the Archbishop (or the Anglican Communion)

rowan-williamsThe archbishop of Canterbury, Dr. Rowan Williams, addressed a whole slew of primates and prelates and other clergy (what is the collective noun:  a gaggle of churchmen? a prelature of priests?) of various Anglican communions on Sunday in Alexandria, Egypt.  One of the main reasons for the meeting was to try and prevent further rifts between Anglicans concerning homosexuality.  It seems that they may have been successful.  Thank God.

Here’s the audio of Rowan’s sermon with a press release from the Anglican Communion website (from whence the picture came):

http://www.aco.org/acns/news.cfm/2009/2/2/ACNS4566

Here’s an article from the London Times about it:

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/comment/faith/article5649818.ece

20 Comments

  1. I think this is a good development for Anglicans, but after reading the Times article, I’m puzzling over how you can maintain church “unity” through the creation of a two-tier communion.”

    Reply

  2. George,

    For now we do not know if that is exactly what will happen. Who knows? I think that both the Anglican Communion and the current situation is rather unprecedented.

    When you really think about it, it is not too dissimilar to the Eastern Orthodox set-up in the USA. Lots of overlapping jurisdictions and even competing bishops. Heck, only two jurisdictions – one Covenanted and one not – in the States might be even more “catholic” than the Orthodox!

    Reply

  3. Tony:

    Good point! However, there is a difference between jurisdictional issues and theology/ethics issues, in my opinion. The Orthodox don’t disagree on fundamentals. The Episcopalians do.

    George

    P.S. Welcome to the dark side, ADJ! 🙂

    Reply

  4. George,

    You are mostly right about that. I would at least note that there are varying levels of conservativism between provinces in the Orthodox. Some are incredibly ethnic and conservative, others, like the Antiochean are much more moderate (not theologically so to speak, but in attitudes to other Christians).

    I think we are all scrambling right now in the West. Isn’t the AG even throwing around an idea of “idealogical connection” rather than geographical?

    Reply

  5. Funny story,

    When I was at the Antiochean Orthodox church recently, I was being introduced to various members of the congregation. When I met the choir director and he found out I was Anglican, he said to his friend “Hey their orthodox right?”

    I’m so looking forward to doing the midnight Easter service there!

    Reply

  6. On paper George. Don’t try to actually tell me that most of those younger ministers who this is due too are hardcore Fundamental Truth guys

    Reply

  7. Tony:

    At the last General Council, I sat next to a guy younger and more hiply dressed than me. (Hiply? Is that a word?) We voted diametrically opposite on every issue, with me being the (ahem!) “progressive.” One thing I’ve learned is never to generalize about what the “younger ministers” in the AG believe based on what I believe, because I may be the outlier, not them.

    Then again, you may be right. Who knows!

    George

    Reply

  8. George,

    I think I was too vague in my wording. I did not mean to imply that all the young are “progressive.” Merely that as far as I was aware, and correct me if I’m wrong, the “relational districts” had as much to do with disaffected young ministers at the end of their rope as it did with relationships for ministry.

    But you’re right, I know plenty of “conservative” young ministers. Though they seem more prevalent in other parts of the country. I like to think that the AG in MN is “almost” as “liberal” as Southern Cal AG’ers 😉

    Reply

  9. Oh, that’s right. Congratulations! No wonder you’re state is so screwed up that it’s about to seat Al Franken. Oh wait, we’ve got Barbara Boxer. Your Jesse Ventura cancels out my Arnold Schwarzenegger, so I guess we’re even gubernatorially.

    Reply

  10. I’m no Franken fan. I think that if he is going to be my Senator he should wear a sign which says: “Does not play well with others” Our Indpendent guy was great. We need instant-run-off voting here to start introducing competing parties.

    Did you see the The Daily Show where Stewart, in reference to our Senator woes gave us a new state motto? “Minnesota, crazier than you think”

    Reply

  11. I suppose that since half of New Mexico’s state legislature and our governor are under investigation for various sorts of fraud (not to mention our former secretary of the treasury who is currently serving out his term in jail for embezzlement), our new state motto should be “We’ll cheat you right.”

    Reply

  12. James,

    “I suppose that since half of New Mexico’s state legislature and our governor are under investigation for various sorts of fraud (not to mention our former secretary of the treasury who is currently serving out his term in jail for embezzlement), our new state motto should be “We’ll cheat you right

    ROFL

    You forgot to include our law enforcement, judges, and various city councilors. I thought our motto was, “Making nepotism work for you (and your cousins).”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

