Happy Day

More presents have arrived and are soon to arrive on my doorstep from generous publishers.

I’ve decided to go with a theme and guide some readers through what I feel are some of the basic “movements” in “post-modern” theology, to the pathetic extent that I know and understand them, and relate it to eccesial practice.

So besides the books already mentioned, I will be reviewing “The Postmodern God” – A theological reader, and “The Blackwell Companion to Postmodern Theology.” Both are from Blackwell-Wiley Publishing (easily one of my favorite publishing houses).  So a big thanks to them!

Also, Caitlin at Baker Academic, always supplying surprisingly good books, has sent me the three volumes (so far published) in the “Church and Postmodern Culture Series” – James K A Smith’s “Who’s Afraid of Postmodernism: Taking Derrida, Lyotard, and Foucault to Church,” John Caputo’s “What Would Jesus Deconstruct: The Good News of Postmodernism for the Church,” and Carl Raschke’s “GloboChrist: The Great Commission takes a Postmodern Turn”

And lastly, Baker was also so kind as to send me “Radical Orthodoxy and the Reformed Tradition: Creation, Covenant, and Participation,” which, you guessed it, critically engages the RO theological streams by way of Dutch Reformed theology.

All in all, I think we will have a lot of fun, and perhaps challenge a skeptic or two to not be so down on “postmodernism” as well as challenge a few Emergent types who feel that all theology is is individual predispositions.

6 Comments

  1. I don’t know if you noticed Richard but there are “very good” used copies on Amazon for $5, that seems a pretty good price to me.

    Reply

  2. Ah, the volume edited by Smith and Olthuis was hot off the press during my second stint at Baker Book House. I read it back then; it’s still around here somewhere. (I was weaned, don’t you know, on Reformational philosophy of the ICS variety.) I hope you enjoy it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

