One Thousand Words, One Thousand Days – A Shameless Self-Promotion

This is shameless self-promotion of a little project I am going to start over at my personal blog, Cognitive Dissonance.

An interesting thought has struck me. I have been watching and reading a lot of interesting pieces in the last several months that seem to address a common sensibility. That sensibility being that you are only ever truly great at something, even if only within your own generation, once you have spent countless hours doing it. Mastery occurs over a period of time that is basted with hard work and roasted in the heat of determination. Too often, I have feared writing something, saying something, or doing something, because I had not yet mastered it. How simply ridiculous of me that was.

So, this idea is a genesis of sorts. I have already written much, and so I am nearly intelligible to most readers, but as of late I cannot help thinking that Samuel Johnson was actually talking about me when he said,

Sir, he was dull in company, dull in his closet, dull everywhere. He was dull in a new way, and that made many people think him great.

Problem being, of course, nobody thinks I’m great – save, perhaps, my children and wife, but they feel a sort of obligation toward the notion. So, clearly, Johnson isn’t talking about me. Nonetheless, this notion of mine will drive me out of the ashes of obscurity in the minds of those in the “know” and perhaps propel me into the myriad of lesser known wordsmiths floating in the sea of paper that constitutes publishers’ willingness to foist anything on consumers. Ah, those will be the good old days with which I bore my grandchildren.

Consequently, starting tomorrow (you didn’t expect me to start today did you?!), I will write one thousands words in one thousand days consecutively. With the intent of writing whatever in the hell falls into my brain, so long as I am writing and I am improving that writing, I will plod along toward the road of mastery. The best part is that a blog threatens the possibility of an audience, but in reality it is merely a threat. However, if I pull it off, I will have documented proof. Will I be better at this after 1,000,000 words fall out of my brain? Who knows, but it seems an appropriate distraction from the horrendous fashion and music that seems to be popular right now.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

